What is Cub Scouting?

Cub Scouts is the Scouting program boys and girls who are in Kindergarten through fifth grade (or five through ten years of age). For more than one hundred years, the Boy Scouts of America (BSA) has provided high quality, fun and educational programs designed to help young girls and boys build moral strength and character, develop fitness, and become active, responsible citizens.

Cub Scout packs consist of children, families, leaders, and chartered organizations who all work together to achieve the 10 purposes of Cub Scouts:

    • Character Development
    • Spiritual Growth
    • Good Citizenship
    • Sportsmanship
    • Family Understanding
    • Respectful Relationships
    • Personal Achievements
    • Friendly Service
    • Fun and Adventure
    • Preparation for Scouts BSA

Cub Scouts emphasizes a year-round, home-centered program at the local level than helps to strengthen the family. Cub Scouts – including Lions, Tigers, Wolves, Bears, and Webelos Scouts – is the largest of BSA’s programs. The other programs, for older youth, include Scouts BSA, Venturing, Sea Scouts, and Exploring.